Eats & Treats: Easter Kit Kat Cake

We are so excited to present to you a new monthly feature brought to you by blogger, Nichole Little from www.cookaholicwife.com. Nichole will be sharing a new delicious recipe each month with our readers. Read on for Nichole’s bio and her first awesome recipe just in time for the Easter holiday!

Enjoy!

Danielle

Nichole Little

Hi there! I’m Nichole, the brain behind the recipes and photos over at cookaholicwife.com. I started blogging back in 2009 when I realized I could take my lifelong love of writing and combine it with my new hobby of cooking and baking. There is an assortment of recipes on my blog. A lot of bloggers have an arsenal of family recipes to share with their readers, but seeing as my mother is not much of a cook, I tend to make anything and everything that catches my eye.

There is a statement on my blog, nothing makes me happier than feeding people. This is the honest truth. I host every holiday and randomly have parties simply because I love every aspect of feeding people. Finding the recipes, creating a menu, prepping and cooking the food, arranging it to be served and most importantly, seeing someones face when they try something I’ve made. (Luckily it’s almost always favorably!)

There is more to me than whisks and recipes though. I have a husband and two cats with whom I love to spend time. When I’m not in the kitchen, you can find me reading. Summer is my favorite season and I could easily spend every single sunny day outside in flip flops. (I hate shoes.) My dream kitchen resides in a house with a water view and a library or bookstore and farmers market in walking distance.

Thanks so much for checking out my first guest post! Today I’m sharing an Easter recipe with you. Is it just me or does it feel like Easter just snuck right up on us this year? Usually, I’m so prepared for this holiday, making my menu and talking over food plans with my mom and aunt weeks in advance. This year we’ve barely managed to discuss anything at all!

The cake recipe I’m sharing with you today looks like it could be very difficult or time consuming, but that is not the case at all. There are actually three ways to make this recipe ranging from easy to difficult. It is entirely up to you which one you chose to make.

Easter Kit Kat Cake

Easter Kit Kat Cake
http://www.cookaholicwife.com

Easy Version: Purchase a round two-layer cake already covered in frosting. Follow steps 2-5 to decorate the cake.

Intermediate Version: Purchase boxed cake mix and follow directions to make two round cakes. Purchase enough store-bought frosting to equal 2 cups (16 ounces). Then follow steps 2-5 to decorate the cake.

Difficult Version: Prepare two round cakes from scratch. Prepare 2 cups icing (any flavor) from scratch. Follow steps 2-5 to decorate the cake.

Ingredients:

1 two-layer round cake

2 cups frosting (purchase 1 jar of store bought frosting if you bought a cake already frosted)

22 snack-sized Kit Kat bars

8 oz. sweetened, shredded coconut

4-5 drops green food coloring

handful of Cadbury Mini Eggs, Jelly Beans, M&M’s or other Easter candies

ribbon, or other decoration (optional)

Directions:

  1. If necessary, prepare and bake the cake. Slice off the tops of both cakes to make them even. Allow to cool completely.
  2. Spread 1/2 to 3/4 cup of frosting over the top of the cake. Working in 4-inch sections, spread frosting on the sides of the cat and press Kit Kat bars to it immediately. Repeat until the Kit Kat bars go around the entire cake and you have used enough of the frosting to ensure they will stick. (If you purchased a cake already frosted, scrape off the frosting and spread a thin layer of frosting. Too much frosting will seep out between the Kit Kat bars.)
  3. Place the sweetened, shredded coconut in a zip-top bag and add 4 drops of food coloring. Shake the bag and massage around the shredded coconut until it has all turned green. If you’d like the coconut darker green, add the remaining drop of green food coloring and shake/massage until evenly distributed.
  4. Top the cake with the shredded coconut, using enough to cover the layer of frosting. Use any extra to decorate around the cake, if desired or discard.
  5. Arrange Easter candies on top of the cake. Tie a ribbon around the cake or use other decor as desired.
  6. To slice, remove the ribbon from the cake and cut in between the Kit Kat bars.

The best thing about this cake is you can personalize it however you see fit. If you wanted to use ladyfingers or wafer cookies around the cake you could easily choose those instead. Prefer pink to green? Make pink Easter grass to decorate the cake instead. And of course, getting to top it with your favorite Easter candies also adds that personal flair. Hope you have a wonderful Easter holiday!

Link to post on my blog: http://www.cookaholicwife.com/2013/03/src-easter-kit-kat-cake.html

Recipe adapted from: So How’s It Taste? –http://www.sohowsittaste.com/2011/04/easter-kit-kat-cake.html

Leave a Reply

