Eats & Treats: Strawberry Pizza

The abundance of fresh fruit in the summer makes me incredibly happy. I honestly could eat fruit all day every day. Strawberries and blackberries, peaches and watermelon, cherries and honeydew…it’s a serious struggle not to have my diet solely consist of fruit. Another thing that I love, and that you can have any time of the year is a cream cheese frosting. But there is just something magical about cream cheese, sugar and fresh fruit mixed together. Sure, you could make a dip and that would be really good, but what about a dessert pizza instead?

This recipe came to me pretty randomly. I participate in quite a few food blogging challenges and this recipe was created for one of those, simply from the ingredients in my fridge.

Sugar Cookie Pizzas

Source: Cookaholic Wife Creation

Servings: 12

Ingredients:

1 roll refrigerated sugar cookie dough

4 oz. cream cheese, softened

1/4 cup powdered sugar

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

10-12 large strawberries, hulled and thinly sliced

optional: berries or other fruit, fresh mint or basil

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (or the temperature listed on your sugar cookie dough package). Line two large baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. Slice cookie dough into 12 evenly sliced rounds about 1/2 inch thick each. Transfer the dough to the prepared baking sheet, leaving each round about 3 inches apart.
  3. Flatten the cookie dough just slightly with a rolling pin. You’ll want the dough to be at least 2 1/2 inches across.
  4. Bake cookies for 12-16 minutes (or as directed on the package). Cookies should be golden brown. Let cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes then transfer to a wire rack to continue cooling.
  5. Combine cream cheese and powdered sugar together in a bowl and beat together with a hand mixer. (Or place in the bowl of your stand mixer and beat together using the paddle attachment.)
  6. Once the cookies have cooled, spread the cream cheese frosting thinly over each cookie. Top with sliced strawberries and any other fruits/garnishes.
Nichole Little_4-15
Hi there! I’m Nichole, the brain behind the recipes and photos over at http://www.cookaholicwife.com. I started blogging back in 2009 when I realized I could take my lifelong love of writing and combine it with my new hobby of cooking and baking. There is an assortment of recipes on my blog. A lot of bloggers have an arsenal of family recipes to share with their readers, but seeing as my mother is not much of a cook, I tend to make anything and everything that catches my eye.
Leave a Reply

